Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Theft

2 Comments

photo

Writing is a very personal thing

As poets, writers, dabblers in verse

We leave pieces of ourselves in all that we put to paper

It’s the rendering of our emotions, our souls, our very beings

Being inspired by another’s writing is wonderful

But when the thoughts, the ideas

The very words themselves that prompted the prose

Are stolen

Are copied

Are pawned off as their own

It’s the worst kind of theft

You see, those words leave footprints

If they were intended for someone special

That person recognizes a turn of phrase

A photograph used to enhance the words

The very thought at the core of the prose

They know who crafted the verse

And they know when the words are not authentic

They know the true source of the poetry

They know a lie when they see it

Photo taken from Pinterest

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

2 thoughts on “Theft

  1. I don’t understand why people feel the need to copy. It doesn’t hurt to make an effort and write something personal.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

