Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Dad

12 Comments

FullSizeRender

Our time together

Ended much too soon.

You were always there for me.

A strong, silent presence

Protecting me

Teaching me.

I was the little girl 

You had dreamed of

And wanted for so long.

Your constant shadow

When I was small.

I treasure the childhood I had

The unconditional love and acceptance

That helped mould me into the woman I am today.

The belief in me that helped me see 

That I could do whatever I set my mind to.

But it was when I was an adult

That our relationship

Really bloomed and flourished.

My growing knowledge and experience

Solidifying an already loving relationship

With mutual respect.

I miss you every day

Now that you are gone.

So much of my life

You have not shared in

Except in my whispers.

I love you Dad.

Photo taken from Pinterest

*Those we love are in our hearts every day but for those we have lost the days that we would have officially celebrated them can be some of the most poignant. Happy Birthday Dad. xoxoxo

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

12 thoughts on “Dad

  1. Nothing like the love of a daughter to her father. I share the same bond with my father, Siren. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So beautiful and so sad at the same time. As a father of three daughters, I can relate. Hugs to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you. I really appreciate your words. Soft smile…

    Like

  4. Wow!!! Fabulous, my lovely friend😓

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is truly beautiful, from the heart ss – there are still times I am driving down a highway and I get a desire to call my dad, or perhaps hang out, in a chair nearby, just to sit nearby. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

