Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Floating on a Sea of Green

5 Comments

IMG_4272

IMG_4280

IMG_4299

She’s floating on a sea of green.

The grass in the garden

A rich, vibrant chartreuse

Is glowing with spring sunshine.

The blanket of blue wool with red and white plaid is small

A precious remnant of her childhood

Where she used it exactly as she did today

Picking out a patch of lawn

Pitching her tent, so to speak

And lying on her back to read.

Sunshine and clouds above

Moving quickly across the sky.

A garden alive with the sounds of

Joyous birdsong, the whirring of bumblebees

Seeking nectar from newly opened blossoms

And the gentle breeze that gathers its fingers

Through the towering lilac bush

Its buds just starting to bloom.

It’s peaceful here

And reminds her of all the days she would spend

Just like this 

When she was a girl.

Her, the blanket and a couple of mysteries

Piled next to her.

Words to lose herself in.

It was easy back then.

To forget

Responsibility

Worries

Life

And immerse herself in her books.

Far easier than now…

Photos taken by sirensong1208

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

5 thoughts on “Floating on a Sea of Green

Leave a Reply

