Siren Whispers

Siren Song

This Wistfulness

15 Comments

FullSizeRender

How do I cure this wistfulness I have.

This desire to be by the sea.

Whenever I see a picture

Or read about it

There rages within myself

A deep need

To be there

Right then.

As though being there

Will make everything all right in my little world.

Perhaps because I believe that it does

In some tiny way.

It settles me

It buoys my spirits

But most of all

It reminds me of how small I really am

And that while my needs, wants, and desires

Are important

In the scheme of things

I am one miniscule drop of water

In an endless sea.

So I take what comfort I can get

My small pleasure in nature.

I smell the salt air

Letting it fill my nostrils with the briny texture

Of the deep.

I let the wind whip through my hair

Making me look wild and untamed.

I hear the pounding of the surf

Reminding me that it is violent in its pursuit of land

But as it recedes

Its touch is gentle as a lover’s caress.

I let my senses take in all the gifts of the sea

And it makes it all right again.

My mind focuses.

My soul breathes.

And I let go…

 

Painting “The Allure” by Michael & Inessa Garmash

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

15 thoughts on “This Wistfulness

  1. Whoa, very good. I enjoyed very much

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A place of healing… Sigh… 🙂 Beautiful, Siren.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on georgeforfun and commented:
    Stay wistful, it’s not a bad thing at all. Free spirited and independent, YAYYYYYYYYYYYY
    🔥( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)🔥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

