Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Words

15 Comments

FullSizeRender

Words

They have the ability

To soothe

Or wound

They can bring a smile

Or a torrent of tears

They can clarify

Or confuse

They can build trust

Or tear it down

They can provide hope

Or remove it

Words should be used with care

We cannot take them back

Once they are freed

I have been on the receiving end of such words

The sting and hurt of unexpected ones wounding deeply

Likewise I have been guilty of letting my own emotions

Loosen my tongue

In pain

In anger

I hate having to try to retrieve those words

I hate seeing the hurt I have caused

Because you can never fully reclaim them

They remain

Wandering

Through the person’s mind

Always a reminder

That you cannot get past

Always a wall

That has gone up

Photo taken from Pinterest

 

 

 

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

15 thoughts on “Words

  1. Absolutely true. I would rather be punched in the mouth than have the scars of hateful words across my soul.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Reblogged this on missameliaandsir and commented:
    “Words” to live by.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Your words ring very true! Once they’ve left your mouth, you can say “sorry,” but the words just like the broken piece of China are still there… Great Post!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Reblogged this on Rebecca Grace and commented:
    This is so honest… and beautifully written. We have all had words harm or heal us, at one time or another…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you Holly! Smiles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

