Siren Whispers

Siren Song

It’s Late…

11 Comments

FullSizeRender

It’s late…

The night air has turned chilly

Autumn is on the horizon

Though we are still ensconced in summer.

Sitting in the moonless garden

The trees, dark shapes against the sky

I tuck my feet beneath me on the wicker chair

And pull my sweater tightly about me.

I take a sip of the deep red in my hand

Enjoying the hints of blackberry and raspberry

The rich, full taste making my taste buds dance…

I listen to the sound of the crickets

Their nocturnal symphony the soundtrack

To my thoughts.

It’s always on quiet nights such as these

That my thoughts center on you so completely.

With no distractions

Nothing to disturb the flow

I let them carry me away

Until I am with you

Firmly in your embrace

The curve to your spoon

Listening to your even breathing

Feeling myself melt into you

Skin to skin.

Smiling and sighing in contentment

As you realize I am there

Whispering something sweet to me

As your hands curve around my hip

Pulling me against you

And I realize that sleep is no longer

On your mind

Photo taken from Pinterest

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

11 thoughts on “It’s Late…

  1. Oh so good Siren. Fabulous!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is fantastic; love it! 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a beautiful scene 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Simply Wonderful, Siren! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

