Siren Whispers

Siren Song

I am not made of stone

39 Comments

FullSizeRender

I am not made of stone.

I have been told

That I wear my heart upon my sleeve

That my writing tells all.

While my writing is imbued with

My thoughts, my feelings, my desires

I write only what I want known.

I am a world of private thoughts and feelings

Pain and joy

Mine to share

If I desire.

You will not find me crying publicly

But that does not mean I don’t hurt

It does not mean that the tears I shed

Don’t run hot down my face

When I am alone.

I am not made of stone

I get confused and frustrated

I have feelings

I have pride

I can be hurt by unkindness

By insensitivity

Especially when it’s unwarranted

Though you’ll never know how much.

 No, I am not made of stone

I am made

Of heart

And soul

Photograph taken from WhiteNoten

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

39 thoughts on “I am not made of stone

  1. Beautifully written! Very vivid!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is perfect. You are all heart and soul, every beautiful part.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been enjoying your writing, and think this is wonderful, but in a way it is sad that you should have had to write a poem like this. I sure we all say spiteful and hurtful things, sometimes, maybe even without realizing it, but hope you will carry on writing your heart out, for us readers to enjoy and revel in. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love it! Well written and deeply touching. I feel exactly the same way.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. And I think you’re beautiful. I wear my heart on my sleeve too, Siren. I know this story very well. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • Smiles. Thank you Eric. Not a bad thing to do but it does tend to get banged up a bit…😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes Ma’am it does. But people always know where they stand with us. We don’t play games when it comes to emotions…it’s written all over our faces and our actions. Our hearts bear lots of scars…but they are strong and wise. We sacrifice security for loving so deeply that everyone who has ever felt that love has no choice but to remember it. Not easily forgotten, are those such as We. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s perfectly beautiful my friend. Very true. I wouldn’t be anyone other than myself, bruises and all. And yes, people always know where they stand with us. There are never questions. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Your work is always so strong yet so vulnerable — it is the perfect balance to create honest art.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t even know how to say how much this touched me. I hope you know how much it means to me. I love you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. if the heart be stone
    then only the sun may warm it
    but only on the outside

    if the heart be stone
    how can it be light?

    if the heart be stone
    how can it help but shatter?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

