Siren Whispers

Siren Song

The cliffs

12 Comments

IMG_5843  IMG_2074

Ireland, 2014

She walked the cliffs

High above the sea.

The path covered in the verdant green of summer

Dotted with gorse and heather

Ancient stones alluding to another life

Another world.

She inhaled the salty air

Letting it fill her lungs

And let the sound of waves against rock

Fill her ears.

The smells and sounds

Affecting her like no other.

She sat and surveyed the infinite expanse of blue-green in front of her

Watching as the white tipped waves raced toward the shore.

He was in her mind as she sat there

At what felt like the top of the world

Feet dangling over the side

Silent in all but thought

Watching the surf dance and froth.

She wished he was there

To join her in this quiet veneration

Of the sea.

She longed to sit close to him

Thigh to thigh

Her head upon his shoulder

His arm pulling her close

Into his side.

Absorbing the light, the sounds, the smells

Silently.

For with this kinship that they feel

With the sea

Words are not needed

When souls speak.

Photographs taken by sirensong1208

**This is meant to be a companion piece to my most recently re blogged “I will see you”…

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

12 thoughts on “The cliffs

  1. A beautiful place to be ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. it’s beautifully written… it’s like I could see it. I love sea and I have my special place I love. it’s my Baltic sea one place in going every year. it’s place of my tranquility and I always think of the one I love, I wish she could be there with me…
    thank you for sharing your heart. 😊🌹

    Liked by 1 person

  3. More brilliance. You’re amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We visited Ireland a few years ago and I fell in love with your heather. As well as the Cliffs, the music in Dolin and the Aran islands. The sea was a loud, wild, and formidable place. I will never forget such a mystical and historic place and will return soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

