Siren Whispers

Siren Song

This winter day

21 Comments

FullSizeRender

This winter day is silent and cold

with my breath freezing in my lungs

well before it’s expelled.

The wind is howling through the trees

and pushing at windows.

It is a day I cannot seem to get warm despite my best efforts.

A day that I am overrun with my own thoughts.

Thoughts that always find their way back to you.

It’s the kind of day I want to spend

wrapped around you

feeling your heartbeat

under my fingertips

your breath

upon on my cheek

and your fingers idly drawing lines and circles

upon my skin

and looping through my hair

in a careless caress.

Limbs entwined

we speak without words

letting our eyes, our fingers, our lips

say everything.

Content to savour the moment

to suspend time

and escape

to each other.

 

©SirenSong1208

Photograph taken from Tumblr

 

 

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

21 thoughts on “This winter day

  1. The perfect winter’s day

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My favorite kind of winter day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “with my breath freezing in my lungs, well before it’s expelled.” Really?? Really?? Your writing is sooo good. You need to give me lessons. I love reading every word you write.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful. You make my finger tips tingle.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. if their is passion and love… shouldn’t this be everyday

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

