Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Virgin territory…revisited

19 Comments

FullSizeRender

Click here for audio

He will map her

Every square inch of skin.

She is virgin territory to him

Though not completely unknown.

Never before has he travelled

Her hills and valleys.

He has only taken that route in his mind

In his imagination

Consulting maps and text to gain better understanding

Of her terrain.

To devise a path

A guide to follow.

But like a cartographer

In love with his craft,

Before he logs one physical mile

He will spend hours

Thinking and planning

Finding the exact route

To her pleasure

And his.

:

*This is not new but I have a special fondness for this piece as I adore the idea of being studied so thoroughly and exquisitely.

©SirenSong1208

Photograph taken from Tumblr

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

19 thoughts on “Virgin territory…revisited

  1. No matter how much one studies beforehand it is best to remember; ‘The Map is Not the Territory’. Cool post, lovely picture, brilliant words.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It fascinates me how a phrase, a string of words can resonate, can linger…’virgin territory’ I too have used in a different context, as prose, to break a tension, to add humour. While written a while ago, I found myself toying with it on Monday as a candidate post for NaPoWriMo…maybe this weekend as I like the contrast it makes to yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mmmm…. a lovely experience to explore a landscape so closely, delicately, taking plenty of time with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this piece the first time I read it. It has not lost any of its sensual magic.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. An opening line that captures the imagination. I love every line of this, every peak and valley of your words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

