Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Nothing

22 Comments

FullSizeRender.jpg

Some days it is a struggle to put one foot in front of the other.

Engulfed by the utter exhaustion that results from putting everyone else first.

Every day.

Those whose needs and wants are of paramount importance to me

but who gladly take what I freely give

without understanding that that well will go dry

if it is never replenished.

Some days it can be a small thing that tips the balance.

Minute in importance compared to those comprising that already weighty pile.

Some days there seems to be nothing left for myself.

The silence broken

by the slow and menacing drip, drip, drip

as my energy is expended.

On yet another day.

On yet another crisis.

On someone else’s needs.

A buildup of days, weeks, months.

When my very soul cries out for something good to come my way

something positive

something

maybe

just for me.

A day when it is my turn

to be understood

to be supported

to be given what I need.

But today is not that day.

Today is the day I say

“enough”

I have nothing to give.

:

©SirenSong1208

Photograph taken from White Noten

 

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

22 thoughts on “Nothing

  1. ah, I feel this on such a deep level.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I often wonder why it is that only women feel this way…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know just how this feels. You’ve expressed it beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This was so well written. A piece so many of us can relate to. Sometimes we give so much, there is nothing left for ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh C, this is perfectly wonderful. I feel this on deeply. So good and if inspired the I send love and warm hugs❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Worded so perfect..💕
    I’ve walked that path
    Love it

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Big big big hugs x I hope your day for pampering comes soon, such a good soul deserves rest and love x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ugh — those days are tough. And I agree that women probably have more of these kinds of days than us men. I hope your day picks up, and you have time just for yourself.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Nicely done. It is true that more women than men often feel this way. But, women’s expectations are somewhat higher than men, I think. I think society paints women with guilt and unreasonable expectations. Women generally think horizontally (like multitasking) while men think vertically (one task at a time). Perhaps that is why the blending of the two is so important and (dare I say it) natural.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

