Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Her Own Drummer

19 Comments

For reasons known only to me today this strikes an even greater chord.

Siren Whispers

FullSizeRender

Her own drummer

She marches to the beat of her own drummer

Balancing bravery and fear in the palm of her hand

She’s much like me

But so much more like herself

A child of “Why?”

She has never stopped asking questions

From the moment she could form words

She has a sweet heart

And a creative mind

A stubborn streak a mile long

And a curious brain

That never seems to relax

I’ve never worried about her

Well, not extensively

Never worried whether she would find her way

In this wide world

Always knowing she would forge her own path

Knowing that I am not here

To tell her what to do

To impose my will upon her

I respect her choices

I acknowledge her intelligence

My purpose is simple

I am

Her guide

Her support

Her greatest fan

Her mother

Photo taken by sirensong1208

Circa 2002

View original post

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

19 thoughts on “Her Own Drummer

  1. So, so marvelous! An undeniable strength in those beautiful eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So beautiful
    makes me happy weepy 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 👏👏👏 beautiful 🙏❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What an awesome lovely young lady.
    And such powerful words ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful photo of a lovely child. Amazing words too. God bless her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

