Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Not a girl of Summer

14 Comments

IMG_0348_1024 (1)

I am not a girl of Summer

though the sea runs through my veins

and I would happily swim from dawn to dusk.

I am not a Coppertone baby with flowing yellow hair

golden strands gleaming in the sun

a perfection of tan skin and white smiles.

I am a girl of Autumn, of Winter

burnished leaves and snowy landscapes 

my favourite haunts

books and fires and sweaters and long walks 

my pleasures.

I am the pale girl

with hair the brown of a sable coat

soft and rich and full of depth.

But it is when its copper threads catch the sun

unexpectedly 

that you get a hint of 

the fiery and passionate nature

oft hidden 

revealed to very few

known only to one

:

©SirenSong1208

Photograph taken by SirenSong1208

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

14 thoughts on “Not a girl of Summer

  1. This is magnificent. I could see you in my heart❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And yet the sun suits you well.
    The daisy shining where secrets dwell.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Exquisite. I love the comparison to the girls of summer, and how there is a reward if one were to see you in the right light. Loved this. Mosk

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this! I am an autumn guy. Friendly fire, an easy chair, a book. Heaven

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

