Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Summer is…

16 Comments

089

Summer is…

Endless days of adventure and discovery

and slow easy mornings.

It is salty-tinged mermaid days

and firefly nights;

catching them in a jar

only to release them

en masse

a bright torch

in the evening air.

.

Summer is…

Lazy days laying on a blanket

surrounded by the verdant green

of lawn and leaves

watching swiftly moving clouds take shape

overhead

as birds practice their calls

and insects whirr about flowers.

It is picking plump raspberries from the vine

and having more wind up in your mouth

than in the bowl.

.

Summer is…

Cotton candy at a baseball game

sticky goodness and broad smiles

and it is the velvety darkness of a summer night

the moment before slumber takes me

as I lay listening

to the sound of crickets

performing their nocturnal symphony.

:

©SirenSong1208

Photograph taken by SirenSong1208

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

16 thoughts on “Summer is…

  1. Thank you for taking back to those very few childlike moments,
    an washing away memories of an abusive childhood..

    With love chris

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is a beauty in your words and writing style. You tranpost us with your vivid images. It’s no wonder you continue to be one of my favorite blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this part: “it is the velvety darkness of a summer night
    the moment before slumber takes me
    as I lay listening
    to the sound of crickets”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree dear Poet. I love the days of Summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reblogged this on johncoyote and commented:
    Amazing poetry by a talented writer. Please read and enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

