Siren Whispers

Siren Song

September 11th

2 Comments

fullsizerender5

On this day, fifteen years ago, life changed.

I was a new mother

grappling with changes

finding joy in discovery

and excited about the journey I had embarked upon

with this tiny person I had brought into the world.

Then it all changed.

The world became darker

filled with unspeakable horror and pain

and craven disregard for human life.

I can still recall where I was and what I was doing that day

of being glued to the television

of watching buildings that I had grown up with

smoke

and ultimately crumble before my eyes

before the eyes of the world.

The fear I had within me was cloying and suffocating.

I knew people who worked near there

the woman whom I called my little sister

traveled through that building every morning and evening. 

For what seemed like hours I tried to find her, to speak to her

to make sure that she was safe.

Ultimately she was,

but the horror of her experience was not something she could brush off

like the dust that settled upon the city.

For days, for weeks I watched the footage

still unable to fathom such evil

hoping each day that another survivor might be found

that another family might have a miracle.

I read the stories

my tears falling copiously upon the page

knowing some names

not knowing scores of others

but their stories were now for everyone to read.

I was moved by the incredible acts of bravery

and heartened by the way the world softened

for just a bit

and gathered together as brothers and sisters

differences aside.

I found out that the greatest loss, outside of the city itself,

came from the town I grew up in

a train ride from the city

a comfortable suburban haven by the sea

and I grieved anew for the losses.

Those six degrees of separation

becoming pronounced. 

I held my child closer

my heart heavy

wishing that this new reality was not hers, not ours

but knowing that this world, our world

was forever changed

the monster was no longer

under the bed.

:

©SirenSong1208

Photograph by Jake Rajs

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

2 thoughts on “September 11th

Leave a Reply

