Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Revisiting a milestone

13 Comments

IMG_0348_1024 (1)

Much can happen in a year.

I have never been afraid of getting older.  In fact, over the last few years I felt I had become a better version of myself.  In every way. I was finally comfortable in my own skin, confident in myself and what I knew I offered to those closest to me and to the world at large.

But this has been an extraordinarily hard year.  On many fronts.  And I feel it.  It’s taken its toll.  It seems I have been cast upon a new and unwieldy sea.  Currents that I used to navigate with ease I am finding to be more treacherous, and challenging, to manoeuvre upon.

I struggle with hope and optimism, with the actions of others, but the one thing I know I can count on, can always rely upon, is my own strength, is my belief in myself. 

I wrote the following at the start of this year and I thought it was appropriate to this post:

There are those times that you take stock of yourself

Ticking off what is important

And what is not

I’m not young or beautiful

But I am so much more than the skin I am in

I am the sum total of all my years

I am wisdom

I am kindness

I am compassion

I am humour

I am love

:

©SirenSong1208

Photograph taken by SirenSong1208

 

 

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

13 thoughts on “Revisiting a milestone

  1. I certainly have the greatest faith and belief in you Christine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh but you are beautiful…in many ways. Beauty takes many different forms and landscapes. Good luck to you, Christine. I think one with a creative, beautiful and focused mind like yourself ( I love and am in awe of what you do in your blog) can steer across any unwieldy sea. Best wishes…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great words and thoughts. We definitely grow into our skin/ acceptance of ourselves x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I obviously don’t know what is happening in your life but I know about treacherous currents, I’ve navigated through them a lot this year. 2016 was very challenging for me, parts of it were very dark, but I’ve come through it as I’m sure you’ll come through whatever it is you’re having to deal with. I do not know you…but I do…through your writings I do. And I sense a strong and gentle soul…and I have faith in her abilities. Hugs, my lovely 💜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

