Siren Whispers

Siren Song

The quiet one

4 Comments

fullsizerender3

The room is low lit and hums with a dozen conversations.

Sitting amidst the noisy chatter of friends, she is the quiet one.  Watching and listening, she takes it all in.

The opening notes of a song begin to play and her eyes light up.

It’s her song.

She jumps to her feet and heads to the dance floor, oblivious to others. 

This girl, alone on the dance floor, loses herself in the music.  She’s in her own world. 

Her long skirt brushes her calves as her hips sway.  As she closes her eyes her head falls back.  With her arms extended above her, curved gracefully, she becomes the song.

She is a pale skinned girl with short dark hair, a long errant strand curling along her bare neck.  Her slender body moves with feeling, the lyrics resonating deeply within her.

She has no idea of the picture she paints to those who watch.  The vision presented to someone like you.

Watching from a table in the back.

Watching as she dances alone.

Uninhibited.

Free.

Wild.

Feeling every note of music in every part of her.

You watch her, transfixed, a smile touching your lips.

You see the creature beneath the modest clothes and the young, innocent face.

You see me.

The me that I do not know.

The me that you will know.

As I lose myself in that moment.

As I lose myself in the music.

As I lose myself

in being me.

:

‘How Soon Is Now?’ written and performed © The Smiths

Words on this blog post ©SirenSong1208

Photograph is of the French actress Audrey Tautou. For several reasons she, and this picture, perfectly illustrated this post. The photo was taken by Ralph Wenig in 2013.

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

4 thoughts on “The quiet one

Leave a Reply

