Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Drifting

6 Comments

I remember days of such closeness,

when I could talk to you about anything.

You were my best friend.

The one I could trust above all others.

You always told it to me straight, 

never mincing words, 

but always being kind.

The message was always delivered 

with love.

You always knew, 

even without me saying, 

when something was wrong.

As I got older I kept my troubles to myself, 

telling you only after the fact, 

never wishing you to worry.

But now when I need your words most,

when I need the comfort that only a mother can bring,

you are drifting away from me,

your memory fading

your grasp on the here and now

adrift

and no matter how fast or hard I paddle

I cannot get any closer to you.

The fog is settling upon the water

and you are disappearing from view.

:
©SirenSong1208

Photograph taken from Pinterest

SaveSave

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

6 thoughts on “Drifting

  1. stirs so many thoughts – beautiful and so sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well said. Its happening to my father too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

