Siren Whispers

Siren Song

Making sense

12 Comments

img_1854

Why does everything have to make sense

immediately?

Are we so impatient with time that we need to rush through life

at breakneck speed

blinders on

focused on the finish?

Can we not allow ourselves the time to savour the moments

some breathtaking

some painful

some soothing

and some that arouse every fiber of our being

reminding us what it means to be alive…

Are we just numb? Are we too cynical? Are we afraid?

Do we take for granted those blissful moments that colour memories with joy and passion?

Do we tell ourselves that it was just an illusion

and didn’t mean anything?

Does that help us sleep at night

content and smug in our keen sense of survival?

Why do we feel like we must discard anything that seems challenging?

Are we so afraid of risk and chance and the possibilities that we can’t yet see

that are still ahead of us

that we struggle with what we don’t know

and we give up

well before we should.

Are we unwilling to take those extra steps to see what lies around the next bend

what we might find waiting for us upon the horizon?

Why are we so afraid of letting life seduce us?

Why do we refuse to listen to the voice inside, the one that jumps up and down with happiness

when we find something sublime

and unexpected

but immediately question its validity

or our own worthiness.

Are we so afraid to be happy 

that we retreat

refusing to fight for what we need

what we deserve

what we want?

How does that make sense?

:

©SirenSong1208 ~ 2017

Photograph taken from Tumblr

SaveSave

Author: sirensong1208

I created this blog as a way to express myself using my poetry and photography. It is a reflection of who I am and of the things that interest me. I have many muses…perhaps the greatest one being my love of the sea, how I gravitate to anything relating to water, how I feel a pull toward it deep in my bones. At times I will be revisiting content that I have shared on Twitter which has, until now, been the forum I have expressed myself in. That said, the content will change over time as the blog grows and develops. It is my hope that the reader will enjoy the journey.

12 thoughts on “Making sense

  1. We are so often bound by fear of change we fail to personally thrive. B

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Exactly, how much success and happiness is lost by us not allowing time for it to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes. Some are in a rush to get to the end and miss all the wonder as it unfolds. The good and the bad. It’s the dismissing of possibility that gets to me. Or the fear that it might be too hard so it’s given up. I find that rather sad.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Some powerful phrases there, and a very powerful message. Instant gratification is the name of the game. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I wish I had all of those answers…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sigh, I’ve been wondering the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We have time, we have time~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

